If you elected to have your node shipped without pre-configuration, once you have it on the WiFi and communicating with your ClearNode mobile app, your next task is to configure it with your AllStar and Echolink credentials and settings. Here’s what the Your Nodes screen will look like.
The yellow highlight indicates that the node is transmitting it’s IP Address over the integrated radio. Drill into the Node Detail screen by tapping on that first row in the table.
At the bottom of the screen the “Node Setup” section has partially scrolled off the screen. Scroll up and tap on “AllStar/Echolink setup”.
Once you have your AllStar node number and the details for your Echolink credentials – go ahead and fill out the screen above. All fields are required although only callsigns and passwords are validated by the target systems. If you don’t wish to use Echolink turn off the “Configure Echolink” switch and the screen will hide those details for clarity.
Note: for a very basic AllStar only setup – just fill out the 2 fields in the “AllStar Identity” section – “Node Number” and “Node Password” – leave everything else at the defaults, tap “Save” (top-right corner), confirm and you’re done.
When you’re ready tap the Save button in the top right corner of the screen, your setup will be sent to your ClearNode and it will reboot. The setup will NOT be saved and activated until you tap the Save button.
You can use this screen multiple times to adjust your setup. (The previous settings are copied to a backup file of the same name with the current date-time appended to the file name – you can access these files by logging in directly into the Raspberry Pi with SSH using the username “root” and the password is your ClearNode Key.)
Note: The setup process recreates your ClearNode Device setup files by merging these settings into a set of templates. This is important to understand because if you make custom changes to the target configuration files directly via an SSH login to the Raspberry Pi – whatever changes you make outside of the ClearNode mobile app will be overwritten and lost, if you subsequently resend the setup from the ClearNode mobile app. (Those custom changes will be preserved in the backup file.)